>

Why I want to reach out this way

I remember feeling SO alone. I felt so embarrassed by my emotional instability, feeling like I was a sinner. I was ashamed of my unpredictable behavior and my unkind treatment of my loved ones. I felt like I was weird, like I wasn’t myself. I didn’t know who I was. I felt ashamed. I felt isolated. Do you relate to those emotions? All of us do to some extent, but those emotions are severely exaggerated when someone is dealing with mental illness.

But feeling alone was the worst part of it all. I often thought, “Am I the only person like me?”, “Am I going crazy?”, “Who do I go to for help?” I felt trapped and like I should keep all of this a secret.

Looking back, it would have made a world of difference to have someone I know, who I see as a normal and happy person deal with what I was dealing with. It would have been so reassuring, it would have healed me in a way.

I have been through a lot. I have learned a lot. I’ve suffered a lot. It’s hard to talk about some of it but other stuff isn’t. I know what I’ll being sharing would have helped me.

More later…

For now, check these out to find answers to some of your mental health questions

4 thoughts on “

Leave a Reply

