>

It’s Real

Have you ever had a prayer answered and it was so so timely that you were flooded with gratitude and amazement? And you look up into Heaven and realize all over again that Heavenly Father REALLY is there?
I have, and just today was one of those times.
I don’t want to go into all the details but it was so real. It was a miracle.
One of my favorite primary songs, “Heavenly Father are you really there? And do you HEAR and ANSWER every child’s prayer, some say that heaven is far away, but I feel it close around me as I pray…”
I’ll admit though that I have gone through times when I have prayed and I didn’t feel much of anything. I know that is a symptom of depression, but I know depression or not we all have that sometimes.
Maybe we even go many, many prayers feeling like it’s just hitting the ceiling and all there is is nothing. No light, no answer and that maybe what we’re facing isn’t important to Heavenly Father.
I have felt that.
I would say that in the past little while it’s been far, few and in between that I have REALLY felt that I was being heard.
But I have felt today that I was. I know that I was. And I am so happy and so grateful.
Something inside told me that my faith was being tested. I knew that, but knowing that doesn’t make it any easier sometimes.
But I know he is listening and loving us, I KNOW that. And we can’t give up praying. DON’T GIVE UP. Just because we don’t always feel the peace that we ask for or the answer we are seeking, and we continue to struggle day to day doesn’t mean that the Lord doesn’t care or that He doesn’t love us. It’s hard to understand but sometimes He let’s us struggle and struggle for a long time.
Elder Richard G. Scott explains it in a way that is so comforting and enlightening. I hope you’ll feel the same peace and confirmation that IT IS REAL and He is THERE like I have today.

How Are Prayers Answered?

Some truths regarding how prayers are answered may help you.

Often when we pray for help with a significant matter, Heavenly Father will give us gentle promptings that require us to think, exercise faith, work, at times struggle, then act. It is a step-by-step process that enables us to discern inspired answers.

I have discovered that what sometimes seems an impenetrable barrier to communication is a giant step to be taken in trust. Seldom will you receive a complete response all at once. It will come a piece at a time, in packets, so that you will grow in capacity. As each piece is followed in faith, you will be led to other portions until you have the whole answer. That pattern requires you to exercise faith in our Father’s capacity to respond. While sometimes it’s very hard, it results in significant personal growth.

He will always hear your prayers and will invariably answer them. However, His answers will seldom come while you are on your knees praying, even when you may plead for an immediate response. Rather, He will prompt you in quiet moments when the Spirit can most effectively touch your mind and heart. Hence, you should find periods of quiet time to recognize when you are being instructed and strengthened. His pattern causes you to grow.

President David O. McKay testified, “It is true that the answers to our prayers may not always come as direct and at the time, nor in the manner, we anticipate; but they do come, and at a time and in a manner best for the interests of him who offers the supplication.”3 Be thankful that sometimes God lets you struggle for a long time before that answer comes. Your character will grow; your faith will increase. There is a relationship between those two: the greater your faith, the stronger your character; and increased character enhances your ability to exercise even greater faith.

It is so hard when sincere prayer about something you desire very much is not answered the way you want. It is difficult to understand why your exercise of deep and sincere faith from an obedient life does not grant the desired result. The Savior taught, “Whatsoever ye ask the Father in my name it shall be given unto you, that is expedient for you.4 At times it is difficult to recognize what is best or expedient for you over time. Your life will be easier when you accept that what God does in your life is for your eternal good.

Elder Richard G Scott

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “

  1. >Sarah, I love Elder Scott's comments about prayer as well. I know that there have often been times when I haven't found an answer for quite some time… deciding about a mission was one of those… I just kept getting nada. But finally after two years of struggling and praying and wishing and hoping, the answer came. Thank you so much for this post, for your example of faith! You are a hero!

  2. >I am loving your blog! It's a good reminder that life is often crummy and that it is only through faith and righteous living that we can have joy regardless of struggles. By the way, did you get my message today? I had to laugh because I just read your post about communicating with people and that was what I was thinking earlier today when I called. We must be on the same page! Love ya, Sarah!

Leave a Reply

