>


  I want to recognize that there are GOOD moments everyday, when I really stop and think about it it’s not ALWAYS bad.  I enjoyed being with our families over Thanksgiving weekend.  We did a lot of fun things and for me there’s nothing better than spending time with my goofy brothers, parents and Ryan’s family. 

After spending most of Thanksgiving day at Ryan’s aunt, we got in the car to head over to my grandma’s.   I all of the sudden just went into silent mode.  Ryan was asking me what was wrong and I honestly didn’t know.  I wasn’t mad at him.  I wasn’t mad at anyone.  But as I sat there I realized that I was frustrated.  Frustrated that I had every reason to FEEL happy and FEEL grateful that we had had such a wonderful day.  I had talked and laughed with everyone and yet here I sat, with feeling NOTHING.  Why can’t I FEEL happy much less FEEL anything when I want to SO badly!  It’s just like you’re a broken record, stuck on the same note, and your mind just keeps hitting the same note over and over and over again and you cannot move your mind or change how you feel, you are just stuck!  It just doesn’t make sense.  I have a wonderful husband and a beautiful little boy.  We both have parents and brothers and sisters that we get along with and love being with.  We just spent oodles of time being with them and doing fun things so why don’t I FEEL grateful and FEEL happy when I know I should and want to?

This morning I was talking to one of my closest friends about this. She shared an analogy with me and gave me permission to share it with ya’ll.  (thanks Linds 🙂

I have a friend that grew up on a large farm.
They had a HUGE tractor with wheels 6 feet high.
One rainy day, while they were out plowing that huge tractor sank into a deep mud hole!
They frantically started spinning the wheels to get out. They kept spinning and spinning those huge wheels and the more they spun, the deeper in the mud the tractor sank.

Have you ever been stuck? Have you ever felt like you were spinning and spinning your wheels but you couldn’t go anywhere? Like the harder you worked the deeper you sank?

The Lord will not leave you stuck forever. He will come to your rescue eventually and pull you out of that muddy hole, even though it seems like you have expended all your energy spinning your wheels and trying to get out. He will come and save you.

This can apply to ALL of us. We all have our problems that make us feel STUCK. We spin and spin day after day, week after week. Working and spinning and feel like we’re getting nowhere.

We are building our character, we are building our faith as we continue to struggle. Eventually the Lord will deliver us, and in the mean time we can continue to ask for his help so that the burden will be lighter while we are still asked to carry it. Keep turning to him in your struggles, He wants to hear about it and help you.

Mosiah 24: 13And it acame to pass that the voice of the Lord came to them in their afflictions, saying: Lift up your heads and be of good comfort, for I know of the covenant which ye have made unto me; and I will covenant with my people and deliver them out of bondage.
 14And I will also ease the aburdens which are put upon your shoulders, that even you cannot feel them upon your backs, even while you are in bondage; and this will I do that ye may stand asbwitnesses for me hereafter, and that ye may know of a surety that I, the Lord God, do visit my people in their cafflictions.
 15And now it came to pass that the burdens which were laid upon Alma and his brethren were made light; yea, the Lord didastrengthen them that they could bear up their bburdens with ease, and they did submit cheerfully and with cpatience to all the will of the Lord.
5 thoughts on “

  1. >Oh, Sarah That was perfect.. I miss you as I still struggle. I have been battling really bad seizures on top of it all. If you get a free moment or need a shoulder call me. We should get together soon. either just the two of us or with our husbands with or with out the kids. I don't care I could just use a friend. We are staying in West Jordan right now due to the prevalence of my seizures..Love you-Linsday

Leave a Reply

